Ken Mannie named FootballScoop Strength Coach of the Year

January 13, 2016 / FootballStrength & Conditioning
Michigan State University strength coach Ken Mannie — who is also a regular Coach and Athletic Director columnist — has been named FootballScoop’s Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year.

Michigan State's Ken Mannie was named FootballScoop's Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year.
Michigan State’s Ken Mannie was named FootballScoop’s Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year.

The announcement was made last week, and Mannie received his award at the AFCA Convention in San Antonio. The 21-year Spartans strength coach has 41 years of experience in the industry and is the longest-tenured strength coach in the Big Ten.

From FootballScoop:

A member of the USA Strength/Conditioning Coaches Hall of Fame and the Collegiate Strength and Conditioning Coaches Association Board of Directors, Mannie spent nine years at Toledo before arriving in East Lansing. Mannie was a three-year letterwinner at Akron, earning his bachelor’s degree in 1974 and his Master’s in exercise science from Ohio State in 1985.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by ProGrass are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Mike Brass [Navy], Scott Cochran [Alabama] and Mannie) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. The prior winners selected this year’s winner.

Mannie has authored Coach and Athletic Director’s “Powerline” column since 2000. His articles offer tips, insight and instruction on how schools can improve strength performance in their student-athletes. Many of his articles can be found here.

Previous winners of FootballScoop’s Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year award include Zac Woodfin (UAB, 2014), Pay Ivey (Missouri, 2013) and Kaz Kazadi (Baylor, 2012).

Click here to read the complete story from FootballScoop.

Leave a Reply