Theismann, Billups Lead 2013 Class Of National High School HOF

February 26, 2013 / Swimming

Four individuals who excelled as high school athletes, including former Washington Redskins’ all-pro quarterback Joe Theismann and current Los Angeles Clippers’ guard Chauncey Billups, headline the 2013 class of the National High School Hall of Fame.

Joining Theismann and Billups as athletes in the 2013 class are Harrison Dillard, who helped Cleveland (Ohio) East Technical High School to three state track championships before winning four gold medals at the 1948 and 1952 Olympic Games, and Kristin Folkl Kaburakis, who helped her St. Louis (Missouri) St. Joseph’s Academy teams to four state volleyball championships and four state basketball titles in the early 1990s before an outstanding two-sport career at Stanford University.

These four individuals, along with five high school coaches, two officials, one administrator and one in the performing arts, will be inducted into the NFHS National High School Hall of Fame June 27 at the Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center in Denver, Colorado. The 31st Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be the closing event of the 94th annual NFHS Summer Meeting.

High school coaches slated for induction this year include Ed Aston, who retired in 2011 after 37 years as girls swimming coach and 33 years as boys swimming coach at Cheshire (Connecticut) High School; Chuck Koeppen, cross country and track coach at Carmel (Indiana) High School for 37 years before retiring in 2008; Chuck Lenahan, who is in his 42nd year as football coach at Plymouth (New Hampshire) Regional High School; Mike Messere, lacrosse coach at Camillus (New York) West Genesee High School for the past 37 years; and James Tate, who has coached cross country and track at Mobile (Alabama) St. Paul’s Episcopal High School for the past 34 years.

Jerry Kimmel, a basketball official from Kentucky who recently retired after 56 years as an active official and assigner for the Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA), and Haig Nighohossian, a soccer official from Granite City, Illinois, who is in his 39th year as an active official with the Illinois High School Association (IHSA), are this year’s honorees in the Officials category.

Ronnie Carter, who retired in 2009 after 23 years as executive director of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA), is this year’s inductee in the Administrators category, and Richard Floyd, who is retiring this year after 50 years in music education, including 29 years as director of music for the University Interscholastic League (UIL) in Austin, Texas, is this year’s honoree in the Performing Arts category.

Leave a Reply