NCAA Crowns 4 New National Champions

June not only marks the end of the academic school year with graduation but also is the time when NCAA student-athletes are crowned national champions.

Last week the Texas Longhorns men’s golf program became the latest NCAA Division I team to earn that crown. They defeated Arizona State, 3-2, in the title match at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, AZ.

nationalThis is Texas’ fourth national title in program history and first since 2012 when Jordan Spieth and Dylan Frittelli helped lift the Longhorns to their first of the matchplay era.

Parker Coody claimed the first point for Texas with a 6 and 5 win over James Leow. He was followed by his brother, Pierceson, who took down Preston Summerhays 2 and 1. The Coody brothers finished with a 4-2 record in the matchplay portion of this year’s championship.

The Longhorns golf team joined the University of Maryland men’s lacrosse team, which defeated Cornell, 9-7, to cap off a perfect 18-0 season — joining just 12 other teams to go undefeated as national champions.

Maryland dominated for three periods, outscoring the Big Red 9-3 and stifling Cornell on the defensive end thanks to 13 saves from goalie Logan McNaney in the first three periods.

The North Carolina women’s lacrosse team defeated Boston College, 12-11, a day before Maryland, to complete a perfect season of its own. They finished the season 22-0, defeating the same Eagles team that ousted the Tar Heels in the previous two national tournaments.

This was the program’s third national title since 2013.

The Stanford Cardinal women’s golf program won its second national championship in program history with a 3-2 win over Oregon in the title match.

The Cardinal become the first No. 1 seed to win the title since the championship switched to match play in 2015. They also became the first team since Arizona State in 2017 to win the team and individual championship in the same year.